Reviews

OUR AVERAGE RATING to date:
Rating
Rated 5/5 based on 15 customer reviews

Fantastic relaxing time

We had such a wonderful relaxing time and our hosts Ngaire and Jim were so helpful . Accommodation was clean and comfortable with an amazing view and very private.

We will definitely be back and highly recommend this accommodation.

Don and Patricia February 4, 2019

Relaxing and beautiful

We went there for our honeymoon.  Ngaire and Jim are so lovely and helpful. The Nest is beautiful and relaxing in such an amazing place. Love getting to use the kayaks! Already planning a trip back!

 

Maddie B January 26, 2019

Serenity

The Nest was a perfect start to 2019.
Our hosts Ngaire and Jim knowledge of Cable bay was amazing. Every thing we needed was there. Comfortable,clean accomodation.
The view was spectacular and was the perfect place to just relax and listen to the beautiful birds.
Would highly recommend staying here.

Rhonda & Darren January 7, 2019

Wonderfully perfect!

Ngaire and Jim were absolutely wonderful hosts who made sure that our stay was perfect and that we had everything we need. It is a truly luxurious accommodation in a setting that just takes your breath away!

Emilie B December 23, 2018

Extraordinary

The accommodation is awesome. It’s the perfect B&B comfort in the middle of beautiful nature, with a unique look over the Cable Bay. So good, that our expectations were exceeded.
Dear Ngaire, thanks for your warmth and for making our stay unforgettable!

Alexandra & Michael (Germany) December 6, 2018

Slice of Heaven

We had 4 nights in the Nest and by far it was the highlight of our 3 week lap of the South Island and the competition was tough ! The location is quiet, peaceful and just beautiful. it is a hideaway but close to Nelson as well. The accommodation is superb, everything you need and more ! Hosts Ngaire and Jim are warm, welcoming and helpful offering advice and suggestions when required. Our stay was perfect . We will always remember waking up to the glorious view, the birds, the water and the island. Highly recommended location.

Dianne M December 6, 2018

A perfect hideaway

Five stars! Friendly hosts, excellent breakfasts, and perfect location.

Claire , (CH) Switzerland November 27, 2018

Amazing location & hosts

Amazing location and views. Easy access to Nelson. Ngaire and Jim were lovely hosts. Great breakfast. The lodge is amazing – private, beautiful and stylish design. Immaculately clean. Lot’s of advice and help on things to do in the area. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended for a stay in the Nelson area.

Paul Howells November 27, 2018

The Perfect Getaway

The Nest is everything it promises to be and more. The views are breathtaking, it’s private, peaceful and luxurious.
It’s the perfect place for a getaway.

Hannah R August 30, 2018

By far the best stay we had in NZ!

We stayed at the beautiful Nest two days on our 11 days South Island trip. The place was as beautiful as the pictures depicted and we had awesome and relaxed stay – just what we needed after 2 long days of driving. Everything was just perfect and Ngaire & Jim the perfect hosts – they gave us so many pointers although in the end we mainly just decided to enjoy the beautiful view and quietness of our place. The location (about 10-15 drive from Nelson) was great for us as we didn’t want to stay in the city. The place is very well equipped and the breakfast provided just lovely. By far the best stay we had in NZ!

Minna (Stockholm, Sweden) July 14, 2018

Beautiful setting

Beautiful accommodation and even more beautiful setting. Ngaire and Jim were very welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed.

Though the main house and accommodation are very close, it was lovely to be left to our own devices as we are quiet and private people, thanks for respecting that. Thanks for the kind and generous hospitality, the offer to stay on an extra night was a lovely gesture that we unfortunately couldn’t take up due to travel arrangements.

Sarah User Profile

Sarah

Sarah June 22, 2018

“Sehr zu empfehlen “

Sehr freundliche Gastgeber, wunderschöne, ruhige Lage mit traumhaftem Meerblick, sehr gut ausgestattetes Zimmer.

Jederzeit wieder!

Staff 10.0

Facilities 10.0

Cleanliness 10.0

Comfort 10.0

Location 10.0

Value for money 10.0

Janni13, GERMANY /DE April 14, 2018

“What a place!”

Wow. What a place! If you are wanting a little bit of perfection overlooking some more perfection, this is your place. Ngaire and Jim couldn’t have been more helpful and welcoming.

Everything was catered for i.e various breakfast options, fresh towels/robes, local info, and showing us around The Nest. The Nest is a small but sufficient masterpiece, every little detail has been thought of. We would most definitely come back here.

Paul User Profile

Paul February 7, 2018

Something truly SPECIAL…

You have made the last couple of days of our honeymoon something truly special. Thank you so much for an incredible stay. We have traveled the world and this is one of the most beautiful locations we’ve seen. It was absolutely amazing to kayak the bay, read in the loft & have champagne in the batch at sunset.

February 1, 2018

“Stunning accommodation”

Stunning accommodation with wonderful hosts. Ngaire and Jim made us feel so welcome. Ever informative but never intrusive, we were left to enjoy exceptional scenery in the comfort and privacy of the Nest.

The Nest itself was spotless and comfortable containing everything we needed. You can spend hours in the balcony staring out the amazing private views, enjoy a short walk to the beach and café or take a short drive to Nelson. We highly recommend The Nest if you a looking for quiet relaxing break, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back!

Kevin User Profile

Kevin (Masterton, NZ) January 14, 2018

“One of the highlights of our New Zealand tour”

Gem of a place. If you like the photos and description, you are in for a very pleasant surprise! Staying at the nest counts as one of the highlights of our New Zealand tour. Thanks for the lovely place ?

Mayank User Profile
Mayank

Mayank (Mumbai, India) October 7, 2017

Add your own review:

(Full Name OR just First Name and initial please).

We will never show or share your email address. Period.

1 - 5 out of 5, where 5 stars is the best and 1 is the worst.

Please enter your Comments above.

You can upload 1 image of yourself along with your Review if you wish

captcha

ANTI-SPAM: Please enter the numbers & letters that you see above, here.

FIVE STARS from AirBnB !

9.9 out of 10 at Booking.com!

9.9 out of 10 from Booking.com !

SUPERHOSTS!

Cable Bay Nest gets
"Outstanding!"
overall rating
from AirBnB, and Booking.com